New Doom Forums  
Doom 2 on vista???? - New Doom Forums
Go Back   New Doom Forums > NEW DOOM > DOOM Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 27th, 2007, 01:14 PM   #1
landymanrob
Commander Keen
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: hayling island (england)
Posts: 2
Doom 2 on vista????

Hi all. first let me say great site. i am looking for help/advice. tried to play doom 2 on my vista machine, but all i get is the play game box appear and the music starts (and wont stop even with the disk out!!!!) is this an issue with vista? used to work on my old machine pent 2 333. any help appreciated .
Rob
landymanrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2007, 02:08 PM   #2
DaniJ
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 4,916
I would suggest using a port. For example, Doomsday works under Vista.
DaniJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2007, 02:48 PM   #3
Grazza
 
Grazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Kvitøya
Posts: 694
You might want to try Dosbox (and run Doom2.exe under that), though I'm not 100% sure how even Dosbox runs under Vista.
Grazza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2007, 04:15 AM   #4
ReX
Commander Keen
 
ReX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: U.S.
Posts: 594
Another alternative is Chocolate DooM, which tries to retain the look and feel of the original DooM/2 (including its limitations) while being compatible with the various incarnations of MS Windows. I don't know if it will work on Windows Vista, but it works on Win XP.
ReX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2007, 11:04 PM   #5
landymanrob
Commander Keen
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: hayling island (england)
Posts: 2
Thanks for the answers guys. not sure what thay all mean but i have something to go on. maybe i will have to get doom3 and play that!
landymanrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2007, 07:11 PM   #6
ReX
Commander Keen
 
ReX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: U.S.
Posts: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by landymanrob
Thanks for the answers guys. not sure what thay all mean ....
The original DooM and DooM2 were created for use on MS DOS (Microsoft Disk Operating System). With the advent of Windows, DooM could only be played in a DOS window or if the computer was booted to DOS. This applied to v3.1, Win95, Win98, WinME, and Win2000. With the introduction of WinXP (and now WinVista) DooM was not supported any more, unless you booted your computer to DOS or used a DOS emulator. The obvious solution for playing DooM was to use a source port, such as jDooM, ZDooM, BooM, Legacy, Edge, Vavoom, etc., all of which work just great on WinXP. However, these source ports sometimes changed the look and feel of the game, and many did away with the limitations of the original game. A source port such as Chocolate DooM works on WinXP, while retaining the look, feel, and limitations of the original DooM/2.
ReX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2007, 01:08 PM   #7
LordRaven
Commander Keen
 
LordRaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dis
Posts: 193
I suggest Zdoom.
Or you could try Eternity wich is another great port and still has the retro feeling of Doom


Quote:
With the introduction of WinXP (and now WinVista) DooM was not supported any more, unless you booted your computer to DOS or used a DOS emulator.
I have Dos on my XP (Without having to run my computer in Dos mode) and I can run Doom and something like 60% of the Dos programs without needing an emulator.
Though maybe that was added
LordRaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2007, 05:45 PM   #8
g6672D
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Unknown
Posts: 1,330
OpenGL is not included with Vista. Or rather, it's in a crippled state. So if you have a card without a new driver (for example a GeForce4) you may not be able to run ports like Doom Legacy and GZDoom in GL mode.

In those cases, you MAY be able to use a Windows XP graphics driver. However, it will wreak havoc with some graphical effects (Media Center and Aero for example). Therefore, make sure you have a system restore point.

Direct3D doesn't seem to have the same affliction though. Half-Life 2 works fine for me. jDoom (D3D) too.
g6672D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 17th, 2009, 06:14 PM   #9
Ancient
Commander Keen
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Well, my problems was that doom would load and all but it'd be super tiny and was black and white.
So I went into shortcut properites, clicked compatablility tab.
checked run as adiministrator, display 256 color, run with 650x650 and checked run by OS: windows 95.
Worked just fine after that.
Played it through 15 levels. Talk about playing a good game while taking a break from work.
DOOM II Rocks.
Ancient is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2010, 01:09 AM   #10
banana
Commander Keen
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ancient View Post
Well, my problems was that doom would load and all but it'd be super tiny and was black and white.
So I went into shortcut properites, clicked compatablility tab.
checked run as adiministrator, display 256 color, run with 650x650 and checked run by OS: windows 95.
Worked just fine after that.
Played it through 15 levels. Talk about playing a good game while taking a break from work.
DOOM II Rocks.
Hell yeah DOOM II Rocks lol just a shame that I can't get it to work with vista still cos that is what we have at work so i can't play it on my lunch

Apart from that its a kickarse game!!
banana is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In the Shadow of the Valley of Death... My Doom Storyline Black_Icon Rants & Raves 15 February 2nd, 2007 05:22 PM
Doom 2 same as doom 1? signofzeta DOOM Series 2 December 15th, 2005 02:57 PM
Awesome Doom 3 mods Sergeant Slaughter DOOM Series 4 March 22nd, 2005 12:35 AM
Songs used in Doom, Doom2 Missacula DOOM Series 16 February 23rd, 2005 08:31 AM
Old Mac Doom & Legacy Polith Doom Legacy 3 June 9th, 2004 09:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
NewDoom.com 2000-2009 Mindless Games & Entertainment. All Rights Reserved.